& Visitors  
  Services &  
Careers & Employment Volunteers Online Bill Pay Contact Us Concierge 1700 S. Tamiami Trail, 34239 • Phone: (941) 917-9000

SMH Honors Two Outstanding Physicians, Installs New Leaders

Printer Friendly Version Printer Friendly Version


docsSarasota Memorial’s medical staff recently installed its new leaders for 20010-2011 and honored two outstanding physicians for their service to the hospital and community.

Vascular surgeon Michael R. Lepore, Jr., MD, FACS, was selected as Sarasota Memorial’s new chief of staff. He will serve as the top representative of Sarasota Memorial’s 810 physician staff members.

A longtime Sarasotan, Dr. Lepore moved to Sarasota in 1974 and graduated from Cardinal Mooney High School, where he was the captain of the school football team and a highly ranked tennis player.

He graduated New College and the University of South Florida College of Medicine and completed his general surgery training at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Dr. Lepore went on to a vascular surgical fellowship at the Ochsner Clinic in New Orleans, Louisiana.

He is a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons, board certified in Vascular Surgery, a member of the Florida Vascular Society and International Society of Endovascular Specialists.

Dr. Lepore is the medical director of Peripheral Vascular Surgery for Sarasota Memorial Hospital Heart & Vascular Institute, Chairman of Quality Improvement for Vascular Interventions and Clinical Assistant Professor of Surgery (Vascular) for the Florida State University College of Medicine.

Special thanks goes to immediate past chief of staff T. Patrick Fitzgerald, MD. Chief of Staff-elect is Neurosurgeon Peter L. Mayer, MD.

The medical staff also announced the recipients of two prestigious awards. General/Vascular Surgeon Harold “Hesh” Kulman, MD, was named the winner of the 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award, while neurosurgeon Robert Knego, MD, was named the 2010 Physician of the Year.

A member of Sarasota Memorial’s medical staff for nearly 35 years, Dr. Kulman played an instrumental role in the development of the hospital’s vascular surgery program.

He has provided invaluable leadership to the health system, serving as chief of staff in 1987/1988 and chairman of the Surgery Department in 1984/1985 and Chairman of the Vascular Surgery Section in 2009/2010.

Known as an exceptional mentor with a passion for top-quality care, Dr. Kulman also serves as Clinical Assistant Professor of Surgery for the Florida State University’s College of Medicine.

Physician of the Year Dr. Knego has been a member of the medical staff since 2000. Throughout his decade of service to the health system, he has promoted new techniques in minimally invasive surgery. Most recently, he helped to introduce computer-assisted neuronavigation for cranial surgery to the OR.

Dr. Knego also served as chairman of the Surgical Department/Surgical Governance 2009/2010 and was one of the leaders in efforts to establish a multidisciplinary Neuroscience Department. In 2010, he served as the president of the Sarasota County Medical Society. Most recently, Dr. Knego completed a mission trip to Ethiopia, performing surgeries and teaching surgical techniques to physicians.

Both physicians were nominated by their peers and selected by a committee of physician leaders.

Reporting Concerns | PRIVACY POLICY | Terms of Service | Online Bill Pay | Mobile Site | Smartphone App
Site optimized for Chrome or Firefox | Copyright © 2015. Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. All rights reserved.