& Visitors  
  Services &  
Careers & Employment Volunteers Online Bill Pay Contact Us Concierge 1700 S. Tamiami Trail, 34239 • Phone: (941) 917-9000

SMH Nursing Chief Earns Statewide Leadership Award

Printer Friendly Version Printer Friendly Version


Sarasota Memorial Chief Nursing Officer Jan Mauck was honored with the 2014 Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award from the Florida Organization of Nurse Executives (FONE).

Recipients of this prestigious annual statewide award must demonstrate outstanding leadership in a number of areas, including developing innovative approaches that help improve the quality of the nursing practice, serving as a mentor, contributing to the community and promoting the image of nursing.

A longtime nursing leader at Sarasota Memorial, Mauck has been chief nursing officer since 2003. During her tenure, the hospital has maintained continuous Magnet Nursing recognition, the nation’s highest honor for excellence in nursing. She also served as president of FONE in 2010-2011 and is co-founder of the Suncoast Organization of Nurse Executives.

Jan Mauck
The Florida Organization of Nurse Executives, which promotes excellence in leadership to shape the future of health care delivery, education and health policy in Florida, presented Sarasota Memorial Chief Nursing Officer Jan Mauck with the 2014 Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award at a conference earlier this month. Shown center, Jan is surrounded by Sarasota Memorial nurses.

“Jan has served the nursing community of Florida in key roles and initiatives over the years with her relentless passion for excellence and love of the nursing profession,” Sarasota Memorial nurses wrote in nominating Mauck  for the award. “This extraordinary CNO sets the bar high, which inspires and challenges all nurses she touches to achieve their personal best.”

Reporting Concerns | PRIVACY POLICY | Terms of Service | Online Bill Pay | Mobile Site | Smartphone App
Site optimized for Chrome or Firefox | Copyright © 2015. Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. All rights reserved.