& Visitors  
  Services &  
Careers & Employment Volunteers Online Bill Pay Contact Us Concierge 1700 S. Tamiami Trail, 34239 • Phone: (941) 917-9000

Sarasota Memorial's Critical Care Unit Earns 2015 Beacon Award for Excellence

Printer Friendly Version Printer Friendly Version


AACN Beacon AwardSarasota Memorial's Critical Care Unit has been awarded the Silver Beacon Award of Excellence, a national recognition from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN).  

A significant milestone on the path to exceptional patient care and healthy work environments, the prestigious honor recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve outcomes and meet national criteria consistent with Magnet Recognition, the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award and the National Quality Healthcare Award.

Fewer than 300 of the 6,000 Intensive Care Units in the U.S. have achieved this three-year designation, and Sarasota Memorial's Critical Care Unit is the only ICU in the southwest Florida region to earn the honor. 

"The Beacon Award is an exceptional achievement and a reflection of our Critical Care nurses' dedication to providing outstanding care to the most critically ill and complex patients,” said Sarasota Memorial Chief Nursing Officer Jan Mauck. “It's the latest example of the excellence Sarasota Memorial nurses demonstrate on a daily basis with each and every patient throughout the health system. Last year, we received our third consecutive designation as a Magnet Hospital — the nation's highest honor for nursing —  and these designations independently confirm our high–quality care and expertise. I'm so proud of our Critical Care nurses for being the first at SMH to achieve the Beacon Award."

The Critical Care Unit earned its silver award by participating in an extensive application process and meeting the following evidence-based criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems 
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Outcome Measurement

 Other Beacon Award designations include bronze and gold.

“The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care,” said AACN President Teri Lynn Kiss, RN, MS, MSSW, CNML, CMSRN.

Reporting Concerns | PRIVACY POLICY | Terms of Service | Online Bill Pay | Mobile Site | Smartphone App
Site optimized for Chrome or Firefox | Copyright © 2015. Sarasota Memorial Health Care System. All rights reserved.